Coincidence No. 202 – Kane

I finish watching ‘Citizen Kane’ for the first time in years, showing Enfant Terrible No. 1. I notice how the final scene in Xanadu with all his art and possessions boxed up must have inspired the final warehouse scene in ‘Raiders of the Lost Ark’. 

Two minutes after the film finishes a message comes in to me from an old school friend commenting on the stuff I’ve been finding today as I sort out the attic and sharing with our Whatsapp group of schoolmates:

Ad – I’m thinking of that scene at the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark where the Ark gets stored in a vast warehouse. Based on what’s emerging recently, I’m assuming your attic is something like that.

Final scene of Raiders of the Lost Ark
Final scene of Citizen Kane

6 comments so far

  1. ArkAngel on

    Update 13/12/20: I went to San Simeon (William Randolph Hearst’s ‘castle’ in California, as a young teenager. I naively asked the tour guide, having heard her recounting of the story of Hearst: “Wasn’t this the bloke that Citizen Kane was based on then?” She vehemently denied it.

  2. Neil Burn on

    That isn’t the actual ending scene from Raiders, that’s a digital matte painting I did to recreate the original shot. But thanks 🙂

    • ArkAngel on

      My bad, didn’t realise that – it does look rather perfect

    • ArkAngel on

      Neil, what was your recreation for?

      • Neil Burn on

        No problem. It was just a personal project, I always loved that final shot, but now with HD and 4K it’s starting to show it’s age, so I thought I’d recreate it with CG.

    • ArkAngel on

      Have you recreated other iconic shots?


Leave a comment