My Favourite Movies

It’s that end of the year time when lists beckon. I’ll be doing my annual list of the best of the year in the next 36 hours or so but before I embark on that I was out with my youngest nephew the night before last and he showed me his Top 10 Films list on his Christmas-new iPod Touch (he’s got very refined taste for an 11 year old and I liked most of his choice which included great American indies like The Way Way Back) so I took the opportunity to jot down my Top 10 on my phone. Not an easy task once you get thinking (so I’m including my bubbling under list with a view to expanding it to my Top 20).

1 Modern Times

tumblr_kzyrmvKa3v1qa4s0qo1_1280

Charlie Chaplin and Paulette Goddard

2 Apocalypse Now

Martin-Sheen-in-Apocalypse-Now-sheenism-religion-for-sheen-addicts-31913441-1222-611

Martin Sheen as Capt. Willard

3 Blazing Saddles

7008385948

Mel Brooks: “Dey even darker den us!”

4 City Lights

chaplin-charlie-city-lights

Charlie Chaplin and Virginia Cherrill

5 The Godfather

58232

Al Pacino as the unspoiled Michael Corleone

The Big Chill

140728_DVD_BigChill.jpg.CROP.promo-mediumlarge

Watching J. T. Lancer

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

ferris-bueller-parade

Twisting & Shouting

8 My Life as a Dog

2436244,6MA0m+djBELcNrvKEFEqrvCnsq14dJNbNFQTFfyIz2WypHmrrOPp2LzhyyrYWsaIu2krbsIj_u3XRts5VXelQQ==

Mitt Liv som Hund

9 The Big Short

movies-the-big-short-cast

Of these 4 great performances Steve Carell’s is the biggie

10 The Wolf of Wall Street

THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

Jonah Hill and Leonardo DiCaprio horsing around in wolf’s clothing

BUBBLING UNDER…
  • The 39 Steps
  • The Unbelievable Truth
  • Blow Up
  • La Haine
  • Diner
  • The Breakfast Club
  • I Know Where I’m Going
  • Black Narcissus
  • The Godfather 2
  • Pulp Fiction
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • Serpico
  • Chinatown
  • 20,000 Days on Earth
  • Romeo & Juliet
  • Mississippi Burning
  • Casablanca
  • West Side Story
  • Silver Linings Playbook

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

