Foreplay (Day 3)

judd apatow

Used the morning to finish off the notey stuff. It’s interesting how certain things keep coming up over time from different quarters, which was evident reviewing all the bits and pieces I’ve gathered since the Spring. Joan Littlewood and Judd Apatow are among the names that kept recurring so what’s not to like about that kind of research?

I retired to the sun dappled garden for midday reading of Rosie Millard’s The Tastemakers (to look at the modi operandi of the likes of young Damien Hirst and Michael Craig-Martin) and interspersed it with a bit of Agatha Christie (The Murder of Roger Ackroyd) for some light relief.

The afternoon was a bit of a break-through session as I mapped out the overall structure of the book and then started drilling down into the structure and components of Chapter 1 which focuses on Allen Ginsberg. In the process of the latter I was able to clarify for myself my writing method which is to be story-driven and layered, but in a slightly different way from my normal method of writing on computer in order to capture the flow and energy, and avoid being over-structured.

Got caught up with some displacement activity after that – tidying up my research books from the last few months and getting a copy of Tricky’s latest LP, False Idols, to accompany the tapping of keys.

So tomorrow will centre on fleshing out Chapter 1 content including inserting the first paragraph which I wrote out back on the terrace of Channel 4 one lunchtime a few weeks ago. I was suddenly inspired by a book I was reading about Ginsberg, a great 60s copy luckily picked up in the always charming Brighton Books (Kensington Gardens, Brighton) on a day trip to Rottingdean with my friend Marit. It’s scribbled in pencil on the inside back cover which is as it should be.

2 comments so far

  1. […] at which point I transcribed the opening paragraph from the back of my Allen Ginsberg tome [see yesterday's post], refined it a bit and then (and this wasn’t really planned) just ploughed on through Chapter […]

    Like

  2. […] beautifully bound Folio edition of Blake’s Songs of Innocence and of Experience (from the aforementioned Brighton Books – they still had a 1968 first American edition of Jane Fletcher’s book on […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

