4 pantheistic quotations

Albert EinsteinBeen working on an arts/literature project recently involving quotations. In the spirit of Sunday night reflectiveness and on the weekend of my first Muslim wedding, here are some quotes I’ve come across in the last while that capture something of what I feel on the spirituality front…

What separates me from most so-called atheists is a feeling of utter humility toward the unattainable secrets of the harmony of the cosmos.

(Einstein)

That which is impenetrable to us really exists. Behind the secrets of nature remains something subtle, intangible, and inexplicable. Veneration for this force beyond anything that we can comprehend is my religion.

(Einstein)

One should count each day a separate life.

(Seneca)

Let your capital be simplicity and contentment.

(Thoreau)

Patterns in Nature

And one for luck…

Plenty of kind, decent, caring people have no religious beliefs, and they act out of the goodness of their hearts. Conversely, plenty of people who profess to be religious, even those who worship regularly, show no particular interest in the world beyond themselves.

(John Danforth)

9 comments so far

  1. practicalpsychologist on

    A hero of mine, Carl Sagan, once said that he didn’t know enough about science to be an atheist with certainty but that the idea of a bearded male creator sat on a throne somewhere in the universe did not push him closer to believing. I suspect he, as do I, would identify himself with the 2nd Einstein quote.

    Like

  2. ArkAngel on

    Any other nuggets you recall from CS?

    Like

  3. practicalpsychologist on

    “Anything you don’t understand, Mr. Rankin, you attribute to God. God for you is where you sweep away all the mysteries of the world, all the challenges to our intelligence. You simply turn your mind off and say God did it.” I had come across this sentiment but had to google to re-acquaint.

    This one is probably his most famous:

    “Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence”

    I still remember exactly how I felt when I watched Cosmos all those years ago. I have the soundtrack on vinyl and played it the other day and I was right back there. Marvellous. I think it was about the time that Voyager was near Mars.

    Like

  4. nick lockey on

    A friend of mine sent me this the other day and, though I’m too young to remeber Cosmos, this really made me want to check it out.

    Even though it’s a tad schmaltzy and gimmicky, I still found it oddly moving.

    Like

  5. ArkAngel on

    Nick, just had a chance to watch this – great way to start a Friday, it definitely does hit the mark. Also love the tie and anorak look.

    Like

  6. practicalpsychologist on

    He opens the bowling for the Irish cricket team.

    Like

  7. practicalpsychologist on

    One of the great things about travelling is that I get to see The Sky At Night at a sensible time on BBC World. Great to see Patrick Moore as enthusiastic as ever at the age of 90 something.

    Like

  8. ArkAngel on

    Ah, the great Patrick Moore, love him. On his wise old age: “At my age I do what Mark Twain did. I get my daily paper, look at the obituaries page and, if I’m not there, I carry on as usual.”

    And on Einstein:
    “I’m only a 4-dimensional creature. Haven’t got a clue how to visualise infinity. Even Einstein hadn’t. I know because I asked him.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

