My Michael

Michael Jackson

The Michael in my mind

Michael JacksonMichael JacksonMichael JacksonMichael JacksonMichael Jackson

6 comments so far

  1. Music Videos on

    RIP

    Like

  2. practicalpsychologist on

    Indeed. I was at The Fleet Foxes gig on Thursday night and just before the final encore as the band were tuning up for their final track an audience member shouted ‘Michael Jackson is dead’. The FF’s were as stunned as the audience were and it was a really strange sensation to share the news simultaneously with 2000 other people. The great pro’s they are the FF’s delivered a fabulous final encore and rushed off the stage as quickly as they could and we the audience rushed out as quickly as we could to get an update. As I got to the car the radio suggested he wasn’t actually dead, merely in a coma but the news was confirmed an hour later. I for one will always have this as a ‘where were you when you heard the news’ moment.

    I think ‘Off The Wall’ is a great, great album and vastly superior to ‘Thriller’. Last night I heard ‘Show You The Way To Go’ and it reminded me too that The Jacksons and The Jackson 5 produced some fabulous soul music. He was a man who had clearly lost any sense of self years ago and had ceased to be accountable for any of his actions. He would have been sectioned had he not been rich and famous. I found the clamour for tickets at the O2 for what would have been a freak show really vulgar. But for all that he was a genius and the greatest global superstar of the late 20th century.

    It will depressing that we will now have to live with twenty years of tabloid bullshit when we just need to remember his remarkable contribution to popular entertainment.

    Like

  3. ArkAngel on

    Can’t really say it was a Where Were You moment for me, though there was a very particular (online) buzz in the air that night. The passing of John Martyn was something that moved me much more – and caught me off guard (that I was moved so much by the death of someone like that that I didn’t actually know).

    Like

  4. practical psychologist on

    Yes of course John Martyn’s death moved me considerably (I remember listen to endless tribute programmes) and I remember exactly where I was when I heard the news (Luton Airport arrivals terminal). Michael Jackson’s didn’t in the that way at all but just the weird atmosphere immediately after the audience member shouted made it ‘memorable’.

    It wasn’t a ‘where were you moment’ emotionally either but it was for its surrealism. I couldn’t stand – and still can’t – John Lennon’s solo music but I still remember exactly where I was when I heard the news of his shooting.

    Like

  5. ArkAngel on

    Me too – I saw it on a newspaper stand in Tijuana – in Spanish (which I could only half translate).

    Like

  6. practical psychologist on

    I was playing table tennis.

    Like


Leave a Reply

