Best of 2012

[a work in progress]
Silver Linings Playbook

Film:
Silver Linings Playbook
Runner-up: Untouchable

Speedy – accompanied by Evelyn Glennie & Talvin Singh (Not So Silent Movies)
West Side Story with live orchestra (Albert Hall)
Searching for Sugarman
On The Road
Woody Allen: A Documentary

(2011 winner: Midnight in Paris)
(2010 [reluctant] winner: Toy Story 3)
(2009 winner: Inglourious Basterds)

Actor:
Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)
Runner-up: Anthony Hopkins (Hitchcock), Jared Gilman (Moonrise Kingdom)

(2011 winner: Owen Wilson (Midnight in Paris))
(2010 winner: Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network))
(2009 winner: Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds))

Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
Runner-up: Helen Hunt (The Sessions)

(2011 winner: Carey Mulligan (Shame))
(2010 winner: Julianne Moore (The Kids Are Alright) )
(2009 winner: Carey Mulligan (An Education) )

Supporting Actor:
Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook)
Leonardo DiCaprio (Django Unchained)
Christopher Walken (Seven Psychopaths)
Alan Arkin (Argo)
Xavier Bardem (Skyfall)
William Macy (The Sessions)

(2011 winner: Corey Stoll (Midnight in Paris))
(2010 winner: Mark Ruffalo (The Kids Are Alright) )
(2009 winner: Brad Pitt (Inglourious Basterds) )

Supporting Actress:
Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook)
Helen Mirren (Hitchcock)
Kristen Stewart (On The Road)

(2011 winner: Shailene Woodley (The Descendants))
(2010 winner: Rebecca Hall (The Town) )
(2009 winner: Kristin Scott Thomas (Nowhere Boy) )

Director:
David O. Russell  (Silver Linings Playbook)
Runners-up: Walter Salles (On The Road), Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

(2011 winner: Woody Allen (Midnight in Paris))
(2010 winner: Ben Affleck (The Town) )
(2009 winner: Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds) )

Script:
David O. Russell  (Silver Linings Playbook)
Runners-up: Chris Terrio (Argo), Martin McDonagh (Seven Psychopaths), Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)

(2011 winner: Woody Allen (Midnight in Paris))
(2010 winner: The Social Network)
(2009 winner: The Hangover)

Cinemtography:
Roger Deakins (Skyfall)
Runner-up: Eric Gautier (On The Road)

Dean and Marylou getting it on

Dean and Marylou getting it on

TV:
Olympic Opening Ceremony (BBC1)
Runner-up: The Audience (Channel 4)

Homeland, seasons 1 + 2 (Channel 4)
Grand Designs  (Channel 4)

Gig:

Van Morrison – Ronnie Scott’s
Dexy’s – Empire, Shepherds Bush
Bat for Lashes – The Forum

Gregory Porter – Bloomsbury Theatre
Patti Smith – Troxy, Limehouse

(2011 winner: Sinead O’Connor – St Johns at Hackney church)
(2010 winner: Gil Scott Heron – Somerset House)
(2009 winner: Hothouse Flowers – Community hall, Baltimore, West Cork)

LP:
One Day I’m Going to Soar – Dexys
How About I Be Me (And You Be You)? – Sinead O’Connor

This is PIL – Public Image Ltd.
Holly Cook – In Dub

(2011 winner: Johnny Boy Would Love This – various)
(2010 winner: Praise & Blame – Tom Jones)
(2009 winner: Sea Sew – Lisa Hannigan)

Single:
Harder Than You Think – Public Enemy
She Got a Wiggle – Dexys
One Drop – Public Image Ltd.
Reason With Me – Sinead O’Connor

(2011 winner: Movin’ Down the Line- Raphael Saadiq)
(2010 winner: What good am I? – Tom Jones)
(2009 winner: Glass – Bat for Lashes)

Book:
The Typewriter is Holy – Bill Morgan

(2011 winner: The Sisters Brothers – Patrick de Witt)
(2010 winner: Freedom – Jonathan Franzen)
(2009 winner: The Great Lover – Jill Dawson)

Art:
The Mystery of Appearance (Haunch of Venison)

Musee d’Orsay (post 2012 revamp)
(Preraphaelites: Victorian Avant-Garde (Tate Britain))

(2011 winner: Angelheaded Hipsters – Allen Ginsberg (National Theatre))
(2010 winner: Paul Nash – The Elements – Dulwich Picture Gallery)
(2009 winner: Dream – Jaume Plensa)

Can We Talk About This?

Can We Talk About This?

Play:
Can We Talk About This? – DV8 (Lyttleton, NT)

Travelling Light – Nicholas Wright (NT)
She Stoops to Conquer – Oliver Goldsmith (NT)
Singing in the Rain (The Palace)
Jesus Christ Superstar (Millennium Dome)

(2011 winner: Frankenstein (NT))
(2010 winner: Jerusalem)
(2009 winner: August: Osage County)

Sports event:
London 2012 Olympic Games

Website:
Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee

(2011 winner: Instagram)
(2009 winner: Posterous)

Saddest loss:
Neil Armstrong
Dave Brubeck

One Day i'm going to soar cover
Best of 2011
Best of 2010
Best of 2009

19 comments so far

  1. amandalovesmovies on

    So what you’re saying is I need to see Silver Linings Playbook? Check out my best of list : http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/12/28/best-of-2012

    Like

  2. theluckhabit on

    Albums:

    Bloom – Beach House
    Maraqopa – Damien Jurado
    Give up the Ghost – Polica
    Be Good – Gregory Porter
    Different Colours – Marconi Union
    Landing on a Hundred – Cody ChesnuTT
    Visions – Grimes

    Like

  3. Dan J on

    Interesting – I am yet to see Silver Linings Playbook, On the Road, Woody Allen doc or Searching for Sugarman (or The Master), but all are on my DVD list. Glad to see you like Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.

    2012 is the first year I’ve *finally* remembered to keep a proper list:

    FILM (may include late 2011 films not seen until Jan 2012…)
    1. Shame
    2. Moneyball
    3. Game Change
    4. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (US)
    5. The Imposter

    (Biggest disappointment – Once Upon a Time in Anatolia)

    (2011: Drive, Black Swan, Senna)

    TV
    1. Braquo (seasons 1&2)
    2. Breaking Bad (season 5 part 1)
    3. Boardwalk Empire (season 3)
    4. The Killing (season 3)
    5. Homeland
    6, Mad Men (season 5)

    (2011 was The Trip and Coppers)

    Gigs
    1. Jay Z & Kanye West (O2) – completely unexpectedly amazing
    2. Plan B (album launch, Bermondsey tunnels)
    3. New Order (Serbia)
    4. Basement Jaxx (Chiswick House)
    5. Black Keys (Alexandra Palace)
    6. Jack White (Alexandra Palace)
    7. Band of Skulls (Brixton)
    8. Emile Sande, Labrinth, Professor Green (Royal Albert Hall)
    9. Florence & the Machine (Alexandra Palace)
    10. Alabama Shakes (Kentish Town Forum)

    Hackney Weekender and Exit Festival also brilliant.

    (2011 was Portishead in Auckland, and at Portishead at Alexandra Palace – after a 10 year wait)

    Like

  4. ArkAngel on

    @amandalovesmovies yup, reckon that’s the message. agree about Moonrise Kingdom from your Top 5 and will make a point of seeing Safety Not Guaranteed

    Like

  5. ArkAngel on

    @theluckhabit i only know the Gregory Porter from that list and last year you fed me some of the best tunes i heard so as ever i’ll be taking your highlights very seriously!

    Like

  6. ArkAngel on

    @DanJ Shame and Dragon were both 2011 releases and Black Swan 2010 I think

    I’m with you on Shame and The Trip and Portishead. Having enough for Top 10 gigs is impressive – New Order one is the one I’d most have liked to experience

    Like

  7. theluckhabit on

    Out of my list I think you will like the Jurado the most. I love the Beach House album – they are the best of the current American ‘dreampop’ bands that seem to be everywhere – and I enjoyed seeing them in Bristol recently. Of course, I will be adding to the list. The best albums of any year tend not to be heard by me for a year or so after coming out but I really made an effort to keep in touch in 2012. Sadly jazz seems to be dying although I have yet to hear the new Christian Scott – his last album was great. ECM has been one of my favourite jazz labels for years but I wasn’t aware of any great 2012 releases. Although this will probably antagonise you I also made a decision not to go and see anyone live who has seen better days (noting your list includes Dexy’s, Van and Sinead O’Connor in the LP section – you’ve got to tell me what she has when we next have lunch! I generally prefer my lady singers to be black). In recent years I’ve seen too many performers who have lost the hunger or are going through the motions. If it means that I am three times older than anyone else in the audience then so be it. Exceptions will be made for the re-incarnations of Miles and JC and a final Pharoah experience before he leaves us.

    Sadly the two trips to the cinema were to see Ice Age 4 and Madagascar 3 with my daughters. I rather enjoyed M3 I have to say and even the Guardian gave it four stars. Oh and ‘Searching for The Sugarman’. I would have included the soundtrack in my albums list but the songs all come from 69/70.

    I loved every second of the Olympics. I shouted wildly for Greg Searle, mostly because I know him. But for me, the atmosphere and noise when Mo Farah won the first of his golds as he came down the finishing straight – I had tears coming down my face and the hairs on my overly-haired body were standing to attention. It was a fantastic moment. I watched it by myself and was suddenly aware that I was standing up and clapping in my lounge! I thought Wiggins would win the tour after the first three days so the drama wasn’t quite so great. And you know what I thought of the wonderful C4 Paralympics ad. I can tell you that in my trips around the world I got a lot of comments about how many people were watching the Paralympics live – they couldn’t believe it. The Olympic torch relay around the UK was a stroke of genius. It went past my front door and the streets were 6 deep.

    So many losses this year, I felt like I was putting up RIP posts on Facebook all the time. Terry Callier musically for me was a shock as I didn’t know he was ill. And Tony Greig because he was my first sporting hero.

    For some reason this year I really appreciated the creative, organised chaos that is Britain more than for many years.

    Like

  8. theluckhabit on

    I am now going to contradict myself. Just heard the new Bowie single. It’s very, very good.

    Like

  9. ArkAngel on

    @TLH Glad you like the Bowie single, it’s got a delicious melancholy and a surprising frailty.

    Like

  10. Jitendra Rawal on

    I will not tell who is best or who is worst but I will only say that they give us only three things…
    ENTERTAINMENT – ENTERTAINMENT – ENTERTAINMENT

    Like

  11. theluckhabit on

    2013. Going to see more live music. I’ve already booked tickets for 3 concerts in Jan, Feb, March.

    Like

  12. ArkAngel on

    @TLH Thanks for the steer on what music to focus on first. I wouldn’t agree that the acts you list are “going through the motions”, some of them are producing some of their best work now and plenty of passion is in evidence, thanks largely to colourful and testing life experience. Sinead I’ll ‘explain’ in person, she has a unique expressive voice, a special strength of character and an interesting perspective on life, shot through with feistiness. As per The Commitments, the Dubs are the blacks of Ireland. “The Irish are the blacks of Europe. And Dubliners are the blacks of Ireland.”

    I picked out the Opening Ceremony particularly from the Olympics as I think it framed the whole thing perfectly in terms of that creative, organised chaos which makes us what we are on these shores.

    Like

  13. theluckhabit on

    Contradicting myself again. Off to see Wilko Johnson live next month on his farewell (a real farewell this one) concert.

    Like

  14. ArkAngel on

    That should be quite something, look forward to hearing about it. Where’s he chosen for the landmark occasion?

    Like

  15. theluckhabit on

    More than one now. I think he’s doing 5 in total and fortunately one of them is Portsmouth.

    Like

  16. theluckhabit on

    Without hesitation I want to add the Django Django album to my ‘best of’ list for 2012. Possibly right at the top of it. It’s a great album.

    Like

  17. theluckhabit on

    Not necessarily recommending it. Not sure it will be your thing.

    Like

  18. […] Best of 2012 […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

